Tags

, , , ,

Just like a typical bloke I often have no idea how much I spend in the supermarket most of the time, but today I got tempted by a few offers in Marks & Spencer. You know the kind of thing, 3 x for £6 and buy a meal for 2 and get free wine etc….

On the way out I thought, hang on that does seem quite expensive so I checked the receipts and didn’t see any discount for the offers. So off I went to customer service to find out why.

It turns out that some of the items on the same shelf were not part of the offer – Hmmm sneaky. I felt cheated to be honest and just a little bit angry that the store had tried to get one over on me.

Matthew in customer service was great though. He went through the bill item by item, and changed the items for ones included in the offer and then refunded my card with £12. Not an insignificant amount on an original bill of £37. Can’t fault the customer service at Marks & Spencer as always, nice recovery.

So here’s a lesson for all you supermarkets who are trying to trick us into not getting the offer advertised. You’ll get found out, even by us blokes who are off with the fairies whilst shopping.

You’ll be better off making it easy for us to get it right in the first place.